Português English
The Smiths – Rank (1988)

The Smiths – Rank (1988)




To listen to a song, click the "Play" button.

  • The Queen Is Dead
  • Panic
  • Vicar In A Tutu
  • Ask
  • Rusholme Ruffians (Marie's The Name) His Latest Flame (Medley)
  • The Boy With The Thorn In His Side
  • What She Said
  • Is It Really So Strange?
  • Cemetry Gates
  • London
  • I Know Its Over
  • The Draize Train
  • Still Ill
  • Bigmouth Strikes Again

Rank is the only live album by English band the Smiths. It was released in September 1988 by their British record company Rough Trade, and reached No. 2 in the British charts. In the United States, the album was released on Sire Records and made No. 77.

Rank was released as a contractual obligation. It was recorded on 23 October 1986 at National Ballroom in Kilburn, London, and is a fourteen-track distillation (of 21 songs) by singer Morrissey from the complete concert recording that had earlier been transmitted by BBC Radio 1. The album rode high on the Smiths nostalgia and the success of Morrissey’s debut solo album, Viva Hate, earlier the same year.

The songs omitted from the recording of the Kilburn show are: “I Want the One I Can’t Have”, “There Is a Light That Never Goes Out”, “FRankly, Mr. Shankly”, “Never Had No One Ever”, “Meat Is Murder”, and “How Soon Is Now?”Also, some edits can be readily heard in the concert itself, such as at the end of “I Know It’s Over”when the crowd starts cheering. In late 2008 video footage appeared from the show on YouTube.

According to the Smiths biographers Johnny Rogan and David Bret, Morrissey originally titled the album The Smiths in Heat. Rough Trade objected and Morrissey proposed Rank, “as in ‘J. Arthur'”(J. Arthur Rank is Cockney rhyming slang for “wank”).

The Smiths were an English rock band formed in Manchester in 1982. The band consisted of vocalist Morrissey, guitarist Johnny Marr, bassist Andy Rourke and drummer Mike Joyce. Critics have called them one of the most important bands to emerge from more...

Genres: ,

Also download other albums from The Smiths

Confirm the code below:


Incorrect code! Please enter the code again...

Doubts? How to Download | Contact