Rock Download Logo ×
Português English
The Clash – Cut the Crap (1985)

The Clash – Cut the Crap (1985)




To listen to a song, click the "Play" button.

  • Dictator
  • Dirty Punk
  • We are the Clash
  • Are You Red..Y
  • Cool under Heat
  • Movers and Shakers
  • This is England
  • Three Card Trick
  • Play to Win
  • Fingerpoppin'
  • North and South
  • Life is Wild

Cut the Crap is the sixth and final studio album by English rock band the Clash, released on 4 November 1985 by Epic Records. It was recorded in Munich, Germany, after the departure of long-term members of the band. Mick Jones—co-founder, lead guitarist and the Clash’s principal songwriter—and drummer Topper Headon had been fired by lead vocalist Joe Strummer and bassist Paul Simonon. The Clash’s manager Bernie Rhodes took over production and some songwriting duties, and recruited then-unknown guitarists Vince White and Nick Sheppard, along with drummer Pete Howard, as stand-ins for Jones and Headon.

The songs were mostly written by Strummer with input by Rhodes, who assumed responsibility for the song arrangements and track sequencing. The often-derided album title, taken from a line in the 1982 post-apocalyptic film Mad Max 2, was also chosen by Rhodes. Simonon does not appear on the album, and Howard was replaced by an electronic drum machine. The band split up soon after its release.

Cut the Crap was heavily criticised by the UK weekly music press on its release. Most writers saw the album as inconsistent and incohesive at best; the consensus was it was “catastrophic”for one of the most important and respected first-generation punk bands. Rhodes’s production choices were derided; one writer described the sound as brash, as if “designed to sound hip and modern—’80s style!”. Although more recent critics have come to see the album in a more favourable light, the contemporary view was that it was “one of the most disastrous ever released by a major artist and a complete failure artistically and commercially.” Strummer’s vocal performance and the tracks “This Is England”, “Dirty Punk”and “North and South”have attracted praise.

The Clash were an English rock band formed in London in 1976 as part of the original wave of British punk rock. They have also contributed to the post-punk and new wave movements that emerged in the wake of punk and employed elements of a variety of more...

Genres: ,

Also download other albums from The Clash

Confirm the code below:


Incorrect code! Please enter the code again...

Doubts? How to Download | Contact