Português English
Red Hot Chili Peppers – Mother’s Milk (1989)

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Mother’s Milk (1989)







To listen to a song, click the "Play" button.

  • play_circle_outlineGood Time Boys
  • play_circle_outlineHigher Ground
  • play_circle_outlineSubway to Venus
  • play_circle_outlineMagic Johnson
  • play_circle_outlineNobody Weird Like Me
  • play_circle_outlineKnock Me Down
  • play_circle_outlineTaste the Pain
  • play_circle_outlineStone Cold Bush
  • play_circle_outlineFire
  • play_circle_outlinePretty Little Ditty
  • play_circle_outlinePunk Rock Classic
  • play_circle_outlineSexy Mexican Maid
  • play_circle_outlineJohnny, Kick a Hole in the Sky

Mother’s Milk is the fourth studio album by American funk rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers, released on August 16, 1989, by EMI Records. After the death of founding guitarist Hillel Slovak and subsequent departure of drummer Jack Irons, vocalist Anthony Kiedis and bassist Flea regrouped with the addition of guitarist John Frusciante and drummer Chad Smith. Frusciante’s influence altered the band’s sound by placing more emphasis on melody than rhythm, which had dominated the band’s previous material. Returning producer Michael Beinhorn favored heavy metal guitar riffs as well as overdubbing that was perceived by Frusciante as excessive, and as a result Beinhorn and Frusciante constantly fought over the album’s guitar sound.

The record was a greater commercial success than any of the Chili Peppers’ three previous studio albums. Mother’s Milk peaked at number 52 on the Billboard 200 and received widespread recognition for singles “Knock Me Down” and the Stevie Wonder cover “Higher Ground”. The album became their first gold record in early 1990, and was the first step for the band in achieving international success. Although the record was not met with the same positive critical reception that its predecessor The Uplift Mofo Party Plan (1987) had garnered, Mother’s Milk, according to Amy Hanson of AllMusic, “turned the tide and transformed the band from underground funk-rocking rappers to mainstream bad boys with seemingly very little effort”. Mother’s Milk would eventually go platinum.

Red Hot Chili Peppers are an American funk rock band formed in Los Angeles in 1983. The group's musical style primarily consists of rock with an emphasis on funk, as well as elements from other genres such as punk rock and psychedelic rock. When more...

Genres: ,

Also download other albums from Red Hot Chili Peppers

Confirm the code below:


Incorrect code! Please enter the code again...

Doubts? How to Download | Contact

× skip_previous pause skip_next